Skip to main content

Brandon M. Lofton received his Bachelor of Arts from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he graduated with highest honors and was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa. He earned his law degree from New York University where he was a Root-Tilden-Kern Scholar. He began his legal career working with Julius Chambers at the civil rights law firm, Ferguson Stein Chambers. Lofton joined the law firm of Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A. in 2007, working primarily in the area of public finance. He is a member of Robinson Bradshaw’s Inclusion Committee, which works to increase the recruitment and retention of diverse attorneys. He is a member of the National Association of Bond Lawyers and previously served as chair of the association’s diversity committee. Lofton also serves on the board of directors of the Levine Museum of the New South and the Housing Advisory Board of Charlotte-Mecklenburg. He is a member of the William C. Friday Fellowship Class of 2014-2016 and the Mecklenburg County Bar Leadership Institute Class of 2011. Last but not least, he is president of the Board of Directors for the Council for Children’s Rights (CFCR), the most comprehensive advocacy and legal services program for children in North Carolina.

Lofton’s various awards and recognitions include being named to the 2012, 2014 and 2015 North Carolina Super Lawyer’s list of Rising Stars for government finance, receiving the Charlotte Catalyst Award in 2013 for his professional success and work in diversity and philanthropy, and inclusion in the Charlotte Business Journal’s “40 under 40” in 2014.

The May 8, 2016, Political Science Graduation Ceremony in Memorial Hall will begin at 1PM, shortly after the University ceremony at Kenan Stadium. All undergraduate political science students who have petitioned to graduate are encouraged to attend the departmental ceremony, where they will be individually recognized and celebrated by family and friends, faculty and fellow graduates. Students attending the departmental ceremony will receive 5 tickets for guests. Doors will open at 12:30 p.m. for guest seating. Professional photographers will photograph each student as he or she is recognized on stage, and students will have the option to purchase photographs. A reception will follow the ceremony weather permitting. The ceremony and reception will conclude at 3:00 p.m.

The departmental ceremony follows the University Commencement, which takes place earlier in the day at Kenan Stadium, for which tickets are not required. For complete information about the University Commencement, including time and location, parking, and disability services, please visit the commencement website at

Students will be sent an email with information about ticket distribution as well as information about photographic services that will be available at the ceremony. For additional information about the Political Science Commencement Ceremony, please contact Susan Heske, Undergraduate Coordinator, at or (919) 843-3922.

Leave a Reply